BarleMusic Tube

Friday, August 29, 2014

Flavor of the Week #35

Lisa Gerard
( ;D --> "Music is a Place to take Refuge. It's a Sanctuary from Mediocrity and Boredom. It's Innocent and it's a Place you can loose yourself in Thoughts, Memories and Intricacies..." Lisa Gerrard. Over a career that takes in almost two decades with Dead Can Dance, award-winning movie soundtracks and a series of acclaimed solo and collaborative albums, Lisa Gerrard has established herself as one of Australia's most ground-breaking and in-demand artists. Singer, composer and actress in El Nino de la Luna (a film which she also scored), Lisa brings a vision that is both precise and all-embracing to everything she does. It is a musical journey that began in the early 1980s when she and fellow Australian Brendan Perry formed Dead Can Dance, one of the world's most original bands whose proud boast is that they never fitted into any neatly manufactured genre or predefined pigeonhole. With Lisa's otherworldly voice counter-poised by Brendon's mellifluous tones, from the outset, they thought nothing of setting discordant electric guitars and dark, rolling bass lines against cellos, trombones and timpani. Over nine albums between 1984 and 1995, the duo's musical canvas expanded with every release to take in a timeless mix of world music influences, medieval chants, folk ballads, baroque stylings, Celtic flavours, electronics, samples and anything else that took their fancy.
Twilight Kingdom
See also:

The Future Sound Of London / FSOL
( ;D --> The Future Sound of London (often abbreviated to FSOL) is a British electronic music band composed of Garry Cobain (sometimes styled as Gaz Cobain) and Brian Dougans. The duo are often credited with pushing the boundaries of electronic music experimentation and of pioneering a new era of dance music.[1][2][3] Although often labelled as ambient, Cobain and Dougans usually resist being typecast into any one particular genre. Their work covers many areas of electronic music, such as ambient techno, house music, trip-hop, ambient dub, acid techno.[4] In addition to music composition, their interests have covered a number of areas including film and video, 2D and 3D computer graphics, animation in making almost all their own videos for their singles, radio broadcasting and creating their own electronic devices for sound making.[5][6] They have released works under numerous aliases. The artists have been fairly enigmatic in the past but have become more candid with their fanbase in recent years with social websites like Myspace, YouTube, their forum and many interviews in which Cobain almost always speaks for the group.)
Machines of the Subconscious Environment Five (release Sept the 15th)
Machines of the Subconscious Environment Five (promo)
See also:

( ;D --> At the forefront of a new generation of hiphop-leaning electronica producers, Lorn comes branded with the Flying Lotus seal of approval. Lorn, dropping the dynamic hiphop electronica with impressively powerful synth arpeggiations between scuttling drums and digital strings, benefitting from a mastering job by Chris Clark, with slow and grinding hiphop rhythms rubbed with basalt horror synths and advanced digital processing. fans of everything from NIN to Gaslamp Killer should check )
The Maze To Nowhere
see also:

( ;D --> The enigmatic veteran Icelandic producer Murya (Guðmundur Ingi Guðmundsson) has been hailed as one of the more interesting electronic music output in Iceland by many of his musical colleagues. After catching the attention of the French label Ultimae Records back in 2007 and featured on various electronic music compilations he started making further appearances in the Icelandic electronic music scene. In 2011 his debut mini-album entitled Crystalline Substances saw the day of light. With his finely programmed beats and dreamlike melodies he captivated the fans of melodic electronic music around the world. Alongside proving himself as a producer, he has become a master remixer for local musicians, including Ruxpin, Skurken and Asonat.)

( ;D --> Psy'Aviah is an Industrial rock / Electroclash / Dark EBM band from Antwerp, Belgium. The band took form in 2004 and was mainly focused on playing live. Later that year they won the Studio Brussel Demopoll with The Future Of The Sun. In 2007 they teamed up with Len Lemeire (from Implant/32Crash fame) to record their first album Creationism. 2008 saw the signing to the Alfa Matrix record label and the release of a new album, featurings and remixes. 2010 brings the third album of Psy'Aviah entitled Eclectric, produced by band member Yves Schelpe and mastered by Geert de Wilde of IC 434 in Antwerp. Their third album brings again a mix of electric eclecticism, varying between styles always with a hint of darkness. This time they have invited some more guests such as Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242 fame to sing on the track Ophélie, and Jennifer Parkin of Ayria who guests on the track Into The Game.)
The Xenogamous Endeavour (Bonus Tracks Version
( ;D --> With "The Xenogamous Endeavour", Antwerp based artist Yves Schelpe decided to make a return to the core of his PSY'AVIAH project, employing total artistic freedom and studio experimentation, writing all the songs on piano first and then only later transposing them into PSY'AVIAH's characteristic electronic world before searching for the right voice fitting the song and its atmosphere. A creative approach not only reinforcing the personal and almost autobiographical side of this new album, but also reaching the best "cross-pollination" from the numerous refreshing collaborations featured on the album and its unique blend of influential music genres of synthpop, rough electro, trip-hop, ambient, etc.  Similar to the collaborative approach of band projects like DELERIUM, CONJURE ONE or yet FAITHLESS, Yves Schelpe operates as the core-producer/composer with various other talented guest artists joining in to lend their voice or other writing/mixing skills and confirming that PSY'AVIAH.)
See also:

Over And Out

No comments: